

# Elections to the JACoW Board of Directors

Ronny Billen



**2019 JACoW Election Coordinator** 



JACoW Team Meeting, Santos, 5 December 2019

#### The JACoW Team & Board of Directors



- The JACoW *Team* is composed of JACoW editors and other experts, as defined in the JACoW Collaboration
- > A *Board of Directors* is elected from among the *Team*
- The Board of Directors is composed of a Chair, a Deputy Chair, a Coordinator and two further Directors
- ➤ The Board of Directors is the managing body that monitors operation of the collaboration and is the deciding authority concerning operations and development/changes to the collaboration and its activities
- ➤ The BoD establishes the policies and work programme for the collaboration and monitors progress and verifies that actions have been carried out
- Members of the BoD are elected for fixed terms defined in the <u>Charter</u> (currently three years)

#### **Current JACoW Board of Directors**



Role	Person	Institute	Since	Until
Chair	Ivan ANDRIAN	ELETTRA, Italy	2014, 2017 TM	2020 TM
Deputy Chair	Todd SATOGATA	JLAB, USA	2014, 2017 TM	2020 TM
Coordinator	Christine PETIT-JEAN-GENAZ	CERN, Switzerland	2014, 2017 TM	2020 TM
Director	David BUTTON	ANSTO, Australia	2016 TM	2019 TM
Director	Volker SCHAA	GSI, Germany	2016 TM	2019 TM

- The two Directors have come to the end of their (first) 3-year mandate
- The Deputy Chair stands down form the Board

#### 2019 Elections to the JACoW Board of Directors



- Deputy Chair and two Director positions are up for election
- Chair and Coordinator remain until next year
- Request for nominees went out to the Team
- Nominees have been asked if they are willing to serve and have the support of their lab
- The candidates on the voting ballot are nominees that have accepted their nomination
- Voting ballots will be distributed on Thursday at my scheduled talk at 10:20
- Voting ballots will be collected rapidly
- The outcome of the vote will be announced at 11:00

#### The Voting Ballot



## 2019 Elections to the JACoW Board of Directors





JACoW Deputy Chair (maximum one vote)

David BUTTON, ANSTO, Austral	ia
------------------------------	----

JACoW Director (maximum two votes)

Regis NEUENSCHWANDER, LNLS	, Brazil
----------------------------	----------

Maksim KUZIN, Budker INP, Russia



Volker SCHAA, GSI, Germany

Pavel SNOPOK, IIT, USA

Robert APSIMON, Cockcroft Institute, UK

### Final Notes for the Voting



- Each Team Member or Designated Conference Representative, may cast one vote only, regardless of the role and of the number of conferences he or she represents
- Each conference thus has the right to express one vote only, through its Editor or Designated Representative
- ➤ Team Members and Officers who are not Editors or Designated Representatives can also express one vote each
- Voting ballots will be given out now
- Valid votes must have a maximum of three selected candidates corresponding to the three positions on the JACoW Board of Directors
  - Deputy Chair (one position)
  - Director (two positions)